Gettin artsy fartsy

As you may or may not know, I’ve been on a hiatus from painting. There’s been a little dabbling here and there, but I haven’t really made the time to sit down and create a piece from start to finish. That is, until recently. An old friend of mine asked me to collaborate on a piece with him for an upcoming show. “Yes!”, was my immediate answer. I was surprised that I agreed to do it and so soon at that. The idea was robots. Which is great because I LOVE robots! I love drawing all the joints and cogs and wires and figuring out how they would be functional.

I got the canvas first and the idea was that he would finish it. So, I decided to document my process and show you the end result. Here are the idea sketches. I wasn’t sure what body position would work best.

I decided to go with the position on the far right.

So, I forgot to take pics of the background coloring process. It’s 4 different shades of spray paint. Nothing too crazy. I sketched her basic shape onto the canvas after I was done with the background. Then covered the sketch with gesso and sketched her again, this time with detail.

After I had her mostly sketched out I started adding the base color/s. I started to add the outlines here and there. I go back and forth with color and outline.

Once I had the outline completed, I added more detail and shading. Then the “babies”.

Once I added the bronze onto the details of her seams and rivets, I went in with spray paint to “clean” her up.

I handed the canvas over to Jules and he finished it with some truly amazing results!

This was our first collaboration together, and I’m so grateful for the opportunity. I only wish we had done this sooner! Here are some really blurry pics of the rest of the paintings from his show. I didn’t want to use a flash because it just makes everything look flat and unappealing.

And finally, a pic of me and Jules and my boobs. If you’re interested in any of the artwork you see here or more from Jules you can go to his website www.julesdemetrius.com it’s fantastic!

And of course, I can’t let you go before I tell you about another place to eat. One of my favorite things to do!

The spot is called Thai Rama and it is located at 1211 W. Camelback rd. in Phoenix. As per some suggestions we stopped by this place before going to the art show. It was delicious! Here are some photos of the evidence. Almost all of the entrees are under $10 so, it’s pretty easy on the wallet too.


And my Thai iced tea with cream.

If you live here. Go to this place. Now.


2 thoughts on “Gettin artsy fartsy

Leave a Reply

