Goodbye Retail…for now.

I am leaving my long time love…The Trunk Trading Co.

I have worked at this lovely little shop with my best friend for the last 2.5 years. For reasons beyond my control…we are closing. Its a sad, sad day. This little shop had the most fantastic selection of affordable clothing, vintage, and handmade items. I was a very lucky girl to have participated in something so unique and it breaks my heart to leave. With the combination of a plummeting economy and the unforgiving heat of an Arizona summer, our sales have dwindled to an all time low.

The last few days have been hectic. Jen sent out a mass email with the announcement. Even though the sale didn’t actually start until yesterday, we saw numbers that we hadn’t seen in months! It’s both exciting and frustrating. Customers that I hadn’t seen in eons were coming in to shop. “I haven’t been here in so long!”, they would say. Then they would ask, “Why are you closing?”. I want to say, “Because you HAVEN’T been here!”.

In my opinion, this is for the better. Jen is planning on opening an online store. With less overhead, she can be even more flexible with her pricing and keep her customer base until she re-opens a later on.

As for me, I’ll be devoting all of my time to my shop. It’s definitely been neglected in the past few years. It seems to be the right direction as everything is falling into place. So, good bye retail! You’ve served me well.

Onto the next chapter…

Leave a Reply

